Board of Directors

Conservation Districts are local units of government with elected boards of seven directors. Five directors are elected from specific zones (see map below or view a Google map of director zones) and two directors are elected “at large” from anywhere in the District. Directors serve four-year terms. Board officers occupy four positions: the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer.

Click here to learn more about the functions and duties of soil and water conservation district directors.


Learn more about a director by clicking on their name. Terms expire at the end of the calendar year listed.

ZoneNameBiographyRoleTerm expiresRepresents
0Jan LeeBiographyMember2020At-large Director
0Roger FantzBiographyTreasurer2018At-large Director
1Jesse NelsonBiographyVice Chair2018Boring, Sandy and our northeast county area
2Jim JohnsonBiographyMember2020Oregon City, Lake Oswego, Milwaukie, Clackamas County urban/rural interface
3Jeff BeckerBiographyChair2020Canby and surrounding area
4Joan ZuberBiographyMember2018Molalla and southwest Clackamas County
5Don GuttridgeBiographySecretary2018Estacada and central/east Clackamas County

Contact Directors

* indicates required field

Acceptable file types: doc,docx,pdf,txt,gif,jpg,jpeg,png.
Maximum file size: 1mb.

Associate Directors

The Clackamas Soil and Water Conservation District also encourages participation from associate directors. Non-voting associates generally have specific expertise that helps inform the Board of Directors. Interested in learning more? Contact us!

Jackie Hammond-WilliamsNov 2016 - Nov 20182
PK MelethilNov 2016 - Nov 20182
Mark SytsmaJan 2016 - Jan 20182
Jim ToopsNov 2016 - Nov 20184

Associate Director Guidelines
Associate Director Guidelines
Version: January 2013 w/administrative updates November 2016
133.4 KB

Directors Emeritus

A Director Emeritus is an honorary, non-voting position appointed to serve as a non-voting member of the board. A Director Emeritus acts as an advisor to the board of directors, augmenting the board’s knowledge and experience. Selection of a Director Emeritus is based on the ability of the individual to enhance the board’s capabilities and effectiveness. The position is reserved for a person who previously served as a conservation district director in the United States or its territories where conservation districts exist.

Michael Weinberg20151

Director Emeritus Guidelines
Director Emeritus Guidelines
Version: May 2015
108.2 KB

Interactive zone map

Powers and duties of Directors

General powers of the District Directors are defined in Oregon Revised Statutes Chapter 568 in ORS 568.550 and ORS 568.552. (A more attractive presentation of ORS 568 is available at Read about functions and duties of District Directors on our website.


Unless otherwise announced, the Board of Directors meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the District office, located at 221 Molalla Ave. Suite 102, Oregon City, Oregon. All meetings are open to the public.

Meeting minutes

Meeting minutes are available in our online Library or at the Clackamas Soil and Water Conservation District office.